Rawlings just announced the three finalists for 2015 Gold Glove awards at each position. Brandon Phillips, Billy Hamilton and Todd Frazier are the Reds representatives this year. The selection criteria include votes by managers, players and a variety of advanced defensive statistics.

NL 3B: Frazier, Nolan Arenado (COL) and Matt Duffy (SFG). Frazier has never won the award. Arenado has won the previous two seasons. Duffy and Arenado each have the edge in various defensive metrics. This category should be a battle between those two.

NL 2B: Phillips, Dee Gordon (MIA) and DJ LeMahieu (COL). Phillips has won four Gold Gloves (2008, 2010, 2011, 2013). LeMahieu is the defending NL award winner at 2B. Interesting category. Gordon has a large lead in defensive metrics this year. LeMehieu is the incumbent and Phillips a multiple winner.

NL CF: Hamilton, Andrew McCutchen (PIT) and A.J. Pollock (ARZ). McCutchen won in 2012. Hamilton and Pollock each have strong 2015 defensive metrics. Hamilton leads in some and Pollock in others. It’s ridiculous that McCutchen is a finalist. A better choice would have been the Phillies’ Odubel Herrera. Hamilton may be hurt by having played more than 300 fewer innings than Pollock.


6 Responses

  1. Big56dog

    The link was not working to show all the finalist. Just curious how many teams had 3 finalists ( or more)? Would Cozart have made it had he not been injured?

  2. CI3J

    Don’t really see any of those 3 Reds winning it. Had Hamilton stayed healthy, I’d say he had the best shot. Still, nice of others to at least take notice that the Reds could play a little defense.

    • jdx19

      So, he deserves it on what merit? If you discount statistics, what do you have? Guessing?

      • Big56dog

        past performance, getting jobbed by Barney a few years back and just for being DatDude more than any of the others

  3. Big56dog

    One thing I get from that list, if you are a good fielding pitcher it will probably turn you into a CY Young candidate