The song Kansas City was written by Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller in 1952 and first recorded by Little Willie Littlefield the same year. Wilbert Harrison recorded it in 1959 and his version became a #1 hit. It’s included on the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame’s list of 500 songs that shaped rock and roll. Here’s the Harrison take:

Here’s a live performance of Kansas City by the great Muddy Waters from 1976:

The Beatles recorded a version mashed with Little Richard’s Hey-Hey-Hey-Hey. Here’s a live performance from 1964:

Finally, here’s Paul McCartney with a few famous friends (Elton John, Clapton, Sting etc.)  in the late 70s.

The Reds (18-20) play two games in Kansas City starting tonight. The Royals (24-14) are in first place in the AL Central with the second-best record in the league. They lost the 2014 World Series 4-3 to the San Francisco Giants, who the Reds just played at GABP.

The two teams last played in 2010 and the Reds haven’t been to Kauffman Stadium since 2009, when Dusty Baker’s team was swept in a three-game series. Johnny Cueto, tonight’s starter, pitched the third game of that series. The Reds’ rotation that year was Aaron Harang, Cueto, Bronson Arroyo, Homer Bailey and Micah Owings. The Reds lineup in Kansas City, minus regulars Joey Votto and Paul Janish:

  1. Willy Taveras CF
  2. Alex Gonzalez SS
  3. Brandon Phillips 2B
  4. Laynce Nix LF
  5. Jonny Gomes DH
  6. Jay Bruce RF
  7. Ramon Hernandez 1B
  8. Ryan Hanigan C
  9. Adam Rosales 3B

Both games start at 8:10 ET. Jason Marquis gets the start tomorrow night (sigh).

18 Responses

  1. doublenohitter

    Jason Marquis gets the start tomorrow night (sigh).

    Sigh, indeed. Jason Marquis versus the best offensive team in baseball?

  2. Kurt Frost

    I remember those days. There was a rule that the CF and SS had to bat 1-2.

  3. doublenohitter

    KC is hitting .287 as a team. The Reds, .240.
    KC has 82 doubles. The Reds, 38.
    The Reds have 48 HRs. KC has 29.

    KC – .287/.338/.435/.774
    Reds – .240/.315/.399/.714

    KC is allowing 1 few run per game than the Reds.

    But it is baseball and anything can happen.

  4. Dean

    That’s Fab Four, a Beattles tribute band, not the Beattles.

  5. sultanofswaff

    I was at the Friday night opener of that series in 2009. It was one of the most embarrassing games I’ve ever witnessed. Luke Hochevar threw an 80 pitch complete game. HOW DOES THAT HAPPEN?!?!?

    The game was June 12. Jay Bruce was hitting .200. I don’t believe anyone was panicking back then…….

  6. i71_Exile

    Boy, that’s a bad Reds line up. I feel better about today’s Reds already.

  7. WVRedlegs

    Tonights recap headline?
    KC Masterpiece, KC schools Reds in how to properly barbeque a Marquis.

  8. renbutler

    I’m getting the feeling tonight might be a no-go because of weather (or a suspension at best). This is not an official prediction at this point, but more of a gut feeling.

    If it does get rained out, tomorrow looks better. They could play a doubleheader, but it looks like rain is likely through early afternoon. Both teams also have Thursday open with no obvious travel concerns if they play early enough (Royals stay home on Friday, Reds fly to Cleveland).

  9. Daytonian

    Laynce Nix batting cleanup. Wow.

    Thanks for the song.