Jay Bruce has won the NL Silver Slugger award for outfield, joining Andrew McCutchen and Ryan Braun. Begun in 1980, the Silver Slugger Award is given to the best offensive player in each league at their position. The Reds report:

Major League Baseball on Thursday handed out the Silver Slugger Awards to the top offensive players in the American League and National League.

Winners of the award were determined by voting conducted among Major League managers and coaches, who were asked to name the players at each position in each league who put up the best seasons at the plate. Voters were not allowed to pick players from their own clubs.

Bruce is the first Reds’ outfielder to win this award since Eric Davis did in 1989.

Mike Leake was a finalist for the pitcher position, but was beaten out by Stephen Strasburg from the Washington Harpers. Mark Sheldon notes the case for Leake:

The one that actually surprised me a little was Strasburg beating out Reds fifth starter Mike Leake. Leake batted .295/.306/.443 with two homers and three RBIs. Strasburg batted .277/.333/.426 with one homer and seven RBIs.

Barry Larkin won the Silver Slugger Award for shortstops nine times. Brandon Phillips won last season. Dusty Baker won twice.

In other award-related news, Christina Kahrl at ESPN offers solid advanced statistical support for Johnny Cueto’s NL Cy Young candidacy. We know that Cueto won’t be winning the award because he isn’t included as one of the three finalists.