Major League Baseball has just announced the 2010 National League Gold Glove winners and our Cincinnati Reds have claimed three of the nine slots. Redleg Nation published today that no Red had ever won a Gold Glove for pitcher or third base; that is no longer the case.

Reds 3B Scott Rolen won his eighth Gold Glove and his first as a Red for his consistently outstanding third base play in 2010. Rolen, healthier than he had been in years, played more games than he had in any year since his last Gold Glove season in 2006. Rolen previously won Gold Gloves in 1998, 2000-2004, and 2006.

Reds 2B Brandon Phillips won his second Gold Glove in three years for his flashy, but seemingly error-free, play at second base. Phillips, an ESPN Web Gem waiting to happen, committed only three errors all season.

Pitcher Bronson Arroyo won the first Gold Glove of his eleven-year career in 2010. Arroyo played errorless ball in 2010, participating in five double plays.

Cincinnati GM Walt Jocketty had said that defense was a priority and apparently other teams’ managers and coaches believed it to be true for this 2010 Reds team. The full list of winners appears below:

Catcher: Yadier Molina, Cardinals
First base: Albert Pujols, Cardinals
Second base: Brandon Phillips, Reds
Third base: Scott Rolen, Reds
Shortstop: Troy Tulowitzki, Rockies
Outfield: Michael Bourn, Astros
Outfield: Carlos Gonzalez, Rockies
Outfield: Shane Victorino, Phillies
Pitcher: Bronson Arroyo, Reds