The National League Gold Glove winners are to be announced today. Hopefully, there won’t be any disastrous shocks like yesterday when Derek Jeter was awarded his fifth Gold Glove. The folks at were so mortified they even had a disclaimer next to the announcement (since taken down). The disclaimer was something like “We can’t believe it either” and linked to a Fielding Runs page which showed Jeter as 46th out of 47 shortstops rated in preventing runs. They’ve now changed it to “My Head Just Exploded.

In case you’re wondering, Orlando Cabrera ranked 28th at -2 runs, and Paul Janish ranked 40th at -4 runs. So, decide how you feel about the Fielding Runs stat. The Cardinals’ Brendan Ryan ranked first at +15 runs saved.

Here’s the Reds Gold Glove history by position. May be we’ll see Brandon Phillips add another one to his collection and/or Jay Bruce pick up his first?

Update: With the selection today of Bronson Arroyo at pitcher and Scott Rolen at third base, it’s now up to Joey Votto to win the Reds’ first Gold Glove at first base. No pressure, Joey….

The award began in 1957:

Pitcher–Bronson Arroyo 1 (2010)
Catcher–Johnny Edwards 2 (1963-64)
Catcher– Johnny Bench 10 (1968-77)
1st Base–none
2nd Base–Tommy Helms 2 (1970-71)
2nd Base– Joe Morgan 5 (1973-77)
2nd Base– Bret Boone 1 (1998)
2nd Base– Pokey Reese 2 (1999-2000)
2nd Base– Brandon Phillips 2 (2008, 2010)
3rd Base–Scott Rolen 1 (2010)
Shortstop–Roy McMillan 3 (1957-59)
Shortstop– Leo Cardenas 1 (1965)
Shortstop– Dave Concepcion 5 (1974-77, 1979)
Shortstop–Barry Larkin 3 (1994-96)
Outfield–Frank Robinson 1 (1958)
Outfield– Vada Pinson 1 (1961)
Outfield– Pete Rose 2 (1969-70)
Outfield–Cesar Geronimo 4 (1974-77)
Outfield–Eric Davis 3 (1987-89)

Have any Reds players been overlooked in the past fifty years? Did baseball miss any Reds players since the award’s inception?

How about before 1957? For you historians, which Reds players would have been “Gold Glove” worthy?

Some names that come to mind as possibilities include 2B Bid McPhee, SS Tommy Corcoran, SS Germany Smith, 1B Jake Beckley, 2B Miller Huggins, OF Edd Roush, 3B Heinie Groh, 2B Hughie Critz, CF Harry Craft, 2B Lonnie Frey, 3B Billy Werber, 1B Frank McCormick, OF Gus Bell, P Bucky Walters, P Tony Mullane? Would they have won? Could they have won with the other players in the league?

My all-time Reds Gold Glove team:

P–Bucky Walters
C–Johnny Bench
1b–Frank McCormick
2b–Bid McPhee
3b–Heinie Groh
SS–Roy McMillan
OF–Cesar Geronimo
OF–Edd Roush
OF–Eric Davis

2nd Team:

P–Tony Mullane
C–Johnny Edwards
1b–Jake Beckley
2b–Joe Morgan
3b–Billy Werber
SS–Dave Concepcion
OF–Pete Rose
OF–Vada Pinson
OF–Harry Craft