Geovany Soto captured the NL Rookie of the Year voting while Reds players grabbed three of the top five spots.  Joey Votto finished second in the voting, garnering the only other first place vote that did not go to Soto.  Votto received one first place vote and twenty-one second place votes.  He also tallied eight third place nods. 

Edinson Volquez finished fourth in the voting, receiving three second place votes — despite the fact that Volquez wasn’t even eligible.  Jay Bruce finished fifth in the final tally, earning seven third place votes.

The National League Central finished with five of the top six places in the rookie voting, with Chicago’s Kosuke Fukodome finishing sixth.  Atlanta’s Jair Jurrjens finished third in the voting.

11 Responses

  1. Bill

    Trent said that Volquez (who was not eligible) came in 4th…yeah, those baseball writers know their stuff.

  2. doug

    There is a reason I can’t read most beat writers…. they just don’t understand the game. They may be able to write well, but as far as understanding the sport, for the most part they don’t have a clue.

  3. Y-City Jim

    Certainly brings the credibility of baseball writers into question. Heck! Even the Cincinnati writers picked up on that. 😀

  4. David

    Well it brings the credibility of three writers into question. Why the name appeared on the ballot, and how it got there, is the better question.

  5. Steve

    How in the heck could the writers not know that Volquez wasn’t a rookie? That seems pretty pathetic.

    Don’t they have a list of guys who are eligible to vote on ready-made? I guess not.

    Unless, of course, whoever put together the list is incompetent as well, that is.


  6. earl

    This is from the same sport that has the conclusion of its championship series games happening after midnight on a weeknight.

    I don’t think we can expect competence from the management of MLB. They are just dumb lucky to be overlords to a cash machine.

  7. preach

    I think Brandon Phillips should have won ROY last year for 30/30……why not?

  8. Kevin

    Well, not to be off topic, but congratulations to Joey Votto. I would’ve liked to see him win it, but it’s great that he’s at least getting a little recognition.

  9. Y-City Jim

    The Reds are talking to the Rockies about Willy Taveras, Yorvit Torrealba, and Garrett Atkins. Taveras just seems like another version of Corey Patterson. Dickerson is a better option in CF. Torrealba isn’t as good as Hanigan. Atkins though would enable the Reds to move Encarnacion to LF. He is a decent hitter and decent 3B. No word on who the Reds are offering in exchange. Jocketty better be careful on this deal.

  10. Josh

    Definite interest in Taveras almost made my head explode. On a related note, my cats name is Mittens.