May 22, 1998: The Reds retire Frank Robinson’s number 20 in ceremonies prior to a 3-2 loss to the Rockies at Cinergy Field.

The retiring of Robinson’s number was long overdue and set aside some bitter feeling between the former outfielder and the club that lasted for more than three decades.

Selected (by RN editor Bill, a full list is found in the book) individuals who have worn number 20 for the Reds include, Ted Kluzewski (1947), Dick Simpson (’66-’67), Ted Savage (’69), Willie Smith (’71), Cesar Geronimo (’72-’80), Eddie Milner (’81-’86), Danny Jackson (’88-’90), Chris Jones (’91), Jeff Branson (’92-’97), and Chris Stynes (’97).

All “Reds trivia” posts come from Greg Rhodes and John Snyder’s fabulous book, “Redleg Journal” (see link for purchasing) and are used with Greg’s permission.

Thanks again to Greg Rhodes for permission to use his material.